The Mike How Travel Award

The call for applications for the 2017 Mike How Award is now open! Click here to download the Call for Applications and click here to download the application form.

The Mike How Travel Award was created in 2007 in honour of Mike How who dedicated much of his time and efforts in the promotion of industrial pharmacy, particularly towards young pharmacists and pharmacy students. The Award is granted to young pharmacists or pharmacy students who have shown keen interest and passion for industrial pharmacy.

The Mike How Travel Award is collaboration between the FIP Industrial Pharmacy Section (IPS), the FIP Young Pharmacists Group (YPG) and the International Pharmaceutical Students' Federation (IPSF). It supports YPG or IPSF members involved in the development, manufacturing and regulatory aspects of pharmaceuticals.

The Award includes

  • An amount of up to €1000 to be used in support of transport, accommodation and registration for the annual FIP congress
  • Free attendance to IPS pre-satellite workshops at the FIP congress
  • Invitation to the IPS Section dinner


Past Winners


The 2011 Mike How Award Winner, Mr. Aayush Agarwal, is a proud Pharmacist from India. He started his journey with a Bachelors degree in Pharmacy after which in order to experience the diversity of the healthcare science he went to the New York University for Master in Biotechnology & Entrepreneurship. His passion and experience in hardcore research for over 2 years in USA got him an opportunity to work at MGH-Harvard Medical School as a Research Associate. On doing some quality research on brain tumor and stem cell therapy there for over a year he decided to pursue his ultimate ambition to be an Entrepreneur and back to India.


He joined a start up pharmaceutical company as a Business Development Manager along with having his own language interpretation services company. Now he is also actively involved in connecting and consulting small/medium pharmaceutical companies to work together and make the best out of their resources. He also serves as a Organizing secretary/Joint secretary in various conferences worldwide every month along with being an Associate editor in an international pharma magazine and an Executive editor in an international scientific journal on bio-pharmaceuticals. All these initiatives help him in contributing to the pharmacy profession in India and globally. This award opened a door of opportunities for him as he it made it possible to attend the FIP Congress in Hyderabad. Here he got involved with the Industrial Pharmacy Section (IPS) and got selected for the Ex-Co Associate in Science and Technology. He is also an active member of Indian Pharmaceutical Association, Indian Pharmaceutical Graduates Association and serves as the President of Alumni Association for helping students to take up the opportunities outside the curriculum of the degree.


2010 Award Winner was Igor Linhares de Castro, from Brazil. Igor is a Regulatory Affairs professional specialized in international projects and health legislation. In the last years he has worked for Aché Laboratórios Farmacêuticos S.A. supporting its partners to set strategies and register pharmaceutical products abroad, especially in Latin America. He has a strong background linked to pharmaceutical student leadership in Brazil and today is an active member of several NGOs and professional organizations, writing scientific articles, giving presentations and joining committees to discuss new advances in Brazilian health regulation.




The 2009 Award Winner Ram Malis is a Regulatory Affairs Associate who works for Megapharm Ltd and is expected to join GalaxoSmithKline (Israel) in a similar position. His portfolio includes facilitating registration of new pharmaceutical products, Food for Special Medical Purposes (FSMP), cosmetics and medical devices in alignment with local regulations and international guidelines, as well as submitting reimbursement dossiers to the National Health Basket and pharmacovigilance responsibilities. Ram is an active member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Israel and is a reporter for the Society's weekly newsletter. He was previously also actively involved in local and international student organizations.



2008 Award Winner Luther Gwaza is a Senior Regulatory Officer with the Pharmacovigilance and Clinical trials unit, Medicines Control Authority of Zimbabwe (MCAZ), the national drug regulatory agency in Zimbabwe. He is currently pursuing his Master of Philosophy (MPhil) degree from the University of Zimbabwe. Luther is also an assistant lecturer of Pharmaceutics with the School of Pharmacy, University of Zimbabwe and is working with a final year pharmacy student on setting up methods to standardize African potato (hypoxis) commercial products. His interests include: drug development particularly in the area of pharmacokinetics, bioequivalence and the development of the pharmacy profession in Zimbabwe and other developing nations. He is actively involved in local and international pharmacy organisations.




2007 Winner Uttam Budhathoki is a Nepalese pharmacist. He is currently studying towards a PhD on "Xylanase" and its industrial scale production at Kathmandu University, where he also lectures in the field of industrial pharmacy and the pharmaceutical sciences. He has been actively involved committees and assocations locally and internationally. The Award allowed Uttam to present his current research findings to colleagues from around the world and will allow him to further foster his interest in industrial pharmacy.